FALL TRYOUT SCHEDULE 2021-22

dates and times are added when announced by NCHS Coaches

 

Cheerleading

First practice will be Tuesday, August 31st at 5:15 pm in the Auxiliary Gym

Girls and Boys Cross Country

Location - Large field adjacent to Waveny Mansion for drop-off and pick-up

1. Pre-season begins Monday, August 23 at 6:00 pm @ Waveny Park and continues through Wednesday, August 25. 

2. Season starts Thursday, August 26. Practice will continue at 6:00 pm and then change to 8:30 am for both Friday and Saturday mornings.

3. Monday practice will be immediately after school dismisses at 11:45 am in Waveny Park for all sophomores, juniors and seniors. There will not be a practice for freshmen due to orientation.

4. Starting Tuesday, August 31 all practices will begin at 2:45 pm in Waveny Park. Saturdays will be at 8:30 am.

5. There will be practice Saturday, September 4 at 8:30 am but not on Labor Day, Monday, September 6.

6. Uniforms will be purchased from the team web store as soon as it is open. 

Field Hockey

Meet on WTT2 for all sessions

Wed, Aug 25 - 3:30-5pm - Fitness test and conditioning only. No field hockey equipment needed.
Thu, Aug 26 - 3:30 - 5:30pm
Fri, Aug 27 - 3:30 - 5:30pm
Sat, Aug 28 - 9:30 - 11:30am
 

Football

Monday, August 23 practice 10 am-12:30pm

Tuesday, August 24 5:30 - 8:30 pm

Practice 5:00 - 8:00 pm

Boys Golf

TRYOUTS CANCELLED AUGUST 23 - THE 24TH WILL BE THE LAST DAY

Tryouts start August 16 at Country Club of New Canaan (our home course) at 3:00 pm.  Please arrive by 2:45 pm. Pickup time will be between 5:00 and 6:00 pm depending on when they tee off and speed of play. We will be play 9 holes each day of tryouts. Golfers must provide their own transportation and must have their own clubs. NCHS does not provide any equipment or balls. 

The team is decided on based on scores submitted during tryouts. We will carry between 14-16 golfers combined on JV and Varsity, usually 7-8 on each team.  Please make sure your son has been playing golf this summer.

Mandatory golf attire: collared shirt, shorts (4 pocket shorts only - no cargo shorts or athletic shorts) and golf shoes.  

Practice will be Monday-Thursday throughout the season.  NCHS provides transportation to and from all away matches and athletes  MUST travel on the bus.

Boys and Girls Soccer

August 26 - August 28, Saxe Middle School

Boys 9:00 -11:00am and 2:00 - 4:00pm

Girls 11:30am - 1:30pm and 4:30 - 6:30pm

Swim/Dive

Location - Waveny Pool

Thursday, August 26: 2:30 - 4:30 pm

Friday, August 27: 2:30 - 4:30 pm

Saturday, August 28: 8:00 - 10:00 am

Monday, August 30 - Friday, September 3rd: 2:45 - 4:45 pm 

Saturday, September 4: 8:00 - 10:00 am

Monday, September 6: NO PRACTICE - Labor Day!

Tuesday, September 7 - Friday, September 10: 2:45 - 4:45 pm 

Saturday, September 11: 8:00 - 10:00 am

Girls Volleyball

Volleyball tryouts for all levels will be August 26 and 27 from 4:00 - 7:00pm